Introduction

IntroPicturesBlog2.jpg

Hello, and thank you for reading my blog. I’ve been asked to introduce myself and I’ve spent a bit of time before starting to write considering what angle to portray myself from. Being a tad older than the average student, soon 32, ehem…. I have around 10 years more living completed than most of the students in my year (with some exceptions). That means I got a head start on grown-up living and sometimes when chatting to my newfound student fellows I realise I sound;

1. Like I’m 100 years old

2. Like I’m bragging

Neither are my intentions.

After some deliberation I concluded with no specific angle; I’ve done a lot of things and this will be a rough, slush-summary of my life, my interests and the topmost events leading me to where I’m now, at Plymouth University gaining a degree in Human Bioscience.

IntroPicturesBlog1.jpg

Born and raised above the Arctic Circle in Norway, in a valley surrounded by tall mountains, my early years included a lot of snow in the winter and 24-hour sunlight in the summer. It was a pretty epic place to grow up. When I was 10 years old my family found another valley, in the south of Norway, filled with strawberries, apple trees and cabbage, yes, that’s a pungent combo in the fall when what is left in the field decomposes. I’ve since then moved over a dozen times, and lived in some very contrasting places.

According to my mum, our family have the appetite for traveling in our blood, she’s convinced we are descendants of Genghis Khan which, given his appetite for conquering land, and women is not impossible. Apparently, as many as 0.5% of the world’s population could be direct descendants of the Mongol warrior.

I did my Master degree in Visual Communication at Kingston University in London and spent almost three years in the city, before meeting my prince. He was from the southerner parts of England and tempted me with the familiar countryside living I’d grown up with, minus the mountains, but including the sea, a trade I was happy to accept. A quick move was followed by an even quicker second move and suddenly we were in Norway. We spent a year and a half in Oslo before deciding it was time to exchange pine for palms and so we packed our bags and found ourselves working as scuba divers in Nusa Lembongan, Bali, Indonesia.  It was here I seriously started considering returning to University. I’d educated as a designer because I was creative, and even though I had been fortunate enough to work with several exciting companies like Norges Bank (The National Bank of Norway), Brønnøysund Registrene (The Norwegian Public and Business Registry), and Google Oslo, I was finding the creative-on-demand work quite flat, everyday work did not often consist of super-creative Google style designs. I also realised that human health was more often than not a topic in conversations I was involved in. The fact that I couldn’t recall one time a conversation about graphics or artistic ideas had got me even half as excited as the human body ensured me I had to make a change.

IntroPicturesBlog3.jpg

Returning from Indonesia I applied for the Human Biosciences course at Plymouth University, you can read more about why I chose Plymouth in my upcoming post “Why Plymouth”, and so far it seems to be one of the better decisions I’ve made in my life. The change has opened up a lot of opportunities and I’m very grateful for every one of them. I’m super excited about the future and very much looking forward to learning even more next year.

Sara :)